The State Department of Panchayati Raj is headed by the Minister of Panchayati Raj. The Administrative head of the Panchayat Department is the Secretary (Panchayats). Goa state has adopted Two Tier Panchayati Raj System. One at the Village Level which is called Village Gram Panchayat and second at the District Level called Zilla Panchayat.

Goa state is divided into two districts i.e. North Goa and South Goa. The South Goa consists of 7 talukas Ponda,Salcete, Marmagao,Quepem, Sanguem and Canacona where as Zilla Panchayat consists of 25 Zilla Panchayat constituencies covering talukas. There are 89 Zilla Panchayat in the South Goa district and 8 Muncipalities.